How I’m getting my habits to stick in 2021

Donal Hutchinson
4 min readMar 23, 2021

Nearly 3 months into the year is a good time for everyone to look back and see if they’re on track with their new resolutions. I’m no different in that I’ve always found it hard to get these outrageous goals accomplished but here’s how I managed to do things differently this year.

Photo Credit to Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Especially living life in a pandemic, regaining a sense of control in life is key. Coming into 2021, once again I set the same big goals (at least I didn’t have to worry about another wasted gym membership) but this time broke them down into smaller milestones. Figuring out what processes fit my time and who I am was vital as well.

Clear Goals

“You can, you should, and if you’re brave enough to start, you will” — Stephen King

When picking new year’s resolutions, vagueness slows our drive down. It puts you off getting going again if you lose that drive you had at the start. So “getting fit” really won’t cut it as your definition of fit on the first of January might be very different from your definition in March. So instead of saying “get fit” try “finish a marathon” this is something that using our next methods can help you build towards. Really putting that goal out in front and seeing it, helps you check in with yourself and remember what you’re pushing towards. The general goal is going to be the same but…

--

--

Donal Hutchinson

Join me as I write on life lessons, self-development & more. I get most of my inspiration from books podcasts and other media. Studying Mech Eng at MTU Ireland